Frontend Fuel - Issue 38

News

Mozilla makes moves to reduce notification permission spam in Firefox. https://blog.nightly.mozilla.org/2019/04/01/reducing-notification-permission-prompt-spam-in-firefox/

GOV.UK Prototype Kit gets a new release (v8.9.0). https://github.com/alphagov/govuk-prototype-kit/releases/tag/v8.9.0

The Guardian introduces a new rendering layer for theguardian.com [thanks Gideon]. https://www.theguardian.com/info/2019/apr/04/revisiting-the-rendering-tier

General Reading

Interesting article all about JavaScript, and it being a performance liability. https://alistapart.com/article/responsible-javascript-part-1

Case study from Spotify on how they built their new desktop web player as a PWA. https://labs.spotify.com/2019/03/25/building-spotifys-new-web-player/

What Does Dark Mode’s “supported-color-schemes” Actually Do? https://medium.com/dev-channel/what-does-dark-modes-supported-color-schemes-actually-do-69c2eacdfa1d

You probably don’t need that hip web framework. https://char.gd/blog/2019/you-dont-need-that-hipster-web-framework

Tutorials

Browser Rendering Optimizations for Frontend Development. https://scotch.io/tutorials/browser-rendering-optimizations-for-frontend-development

An illustrated guide to map, reduce, and filter array methods https://css-tricks.com/an-illustrated-and-musical-guide-to-map-reduce-and-filter-array-methods/

What you should know about JavaScript arrays. https://thomlom.dev/what-you-should-know-about-js-arrays/

An intro to semantic HTML. https://dev.to/kenbellows/stop-using-so-many-divs-an-intro-to-semantic-html-3i9i

Accessibility

Building accessible websites and apps is a moral obligation. https://gomakethings.com/building-accessible-websites-and-apps-is-a-moral-obligation/

A deep dive into the main scenarios where you may wish to hide content. https://cloudfour.com/thinks/see-no-evil-hidden-content-and-accessibility/

Presentations

Shameless self-promotion. I gave a talk about PWA’s at the x-gov design meet-up this week. https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1rTr0AdAJo2pB79cftfsuAw2T7SitaV0dILTb-DuC7_4/edit#slide=id.g10d42026b8_2_0

Tools

Visualisation of the crazy world of JavaScript Coercions. https://getify.github.io/coercions-grid/

A Visual Studio Code extension enabling smart visual tools for front-end developers. https://gimli.app/

Real-time collaborative development in Visual Studio. https://visualstudio.microsoft.com/services/live-share/

Zero config GUI for Jest.

https://github.com/Raathigesh/majestic

Test input types, onscreen keyboards and more! https://inputtypes.com/

Events

Frontend North East / April 3rd / Newcastle. https://2019.frontendne.co.uk/

Afrotech Fest 2019 / April 12-14 / London. https://www.afrotechfest.co.uk/

City of London JavaScript Conference / May 1-3 / London. https://cityjsconf.org/

UX London 2019 / May 29-31 / London. https://2019.uxlondon.com/

Pixel Pioneers Bristol 2019 / June 7 / Bristol. https://pixelpioneers.co/

Lead Developer London 2019 / June 11-12 / London. https://london2019.theleaddeveloper.com/

Off-topic

Have you ever wondered what would happen if we detonated all nuclear bombs at once? Here’s a video explaining what could happen. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JyECrGp-Sw8